Dog running

健康生活的塑造主要分成兩部份:理想健康的體重和體態,以及適當的體能鍛煉。理想健康的體重和體能鍛煉往往是相輔相成的,我們很少見過肥但體能甚佳的狗狗。

判斷狗狗是否超重的最好辦法,是用雙手摸摸牠們的肋骨和脊椎。您應該看不可見肋骨和脊椎,如果您狗狗有超重的問題,您會需要用力按,才能感覺到肋骨。另一方面,如果您見到明顯的肋骨,這表示牠過輕,或營養不良。

至於體能鍛煉,正常的狗狗應該能輕鬆地用30分鐘散步,而不會上氣不接下氣或非常累的。

在制定體能鍛煉計劃時,謹記要考慮狗狗的品種和年齡。有些品種,如格雷伊獵犬(Greyhounds)和惠比特犬(Whippets) 通常有較明顯的肋骨,而老虎狗(Bulldogs)天生有相當堅實肌肉。因此,格雷伊獵犬通常比老虎狗敏捷。另外,老犬的體態和鍛煉能力往往會比較年輕狗狗的低。

按此瀏覽更多在Vetopia.com.hk關於體重管理的資訊。

5種最能鍛煉體能的方式?

只要配合適當、有規律的鍛煉,要塑造體態並不困難。剛開始時,記得不要太急進,用幾個星期的時間,慢慢加強鍛煉的強度。同時,不要忘記考慮狗狗的品種和年齡,例如八哥(Pugs)做的運動與梗犬(Terriers)要有別;非常年輕或較老的狗狗也不應做太劇烈的運動。在成長階段的狗狗,特別是較大型品種的狗狗,應避免太劇烈的運動,因為牠們骨骼的發展差不多要在9個月大時才完成,太劇烈的運動會阻礙牠們骨骼的發展。

以下5種是最能鍛煉狗狗體能的方:

1.散步:有時,最簡單的方法已經是最好的。定期、有規律的散步能鍛煉心肺功能,能燃燒脂肪。可能的話,我建議每天帶狗狗散步兩次,並根據狗狗的年齡和品種而決定散步的時間長短,以15-30分鐘為宜。

2.小徑散步:當狗狗的體能上升到一定的水準,主人可以嘗試到一些難度較高的小徑散步。如果您的狗狗準備好迎接挑戰,這種小徑散步方式不但能提升腿部力量,亦能有效強化體能。

3.到戶外遊樂區和公園:丟飛碟和拔河等活動有益身心,亦能促進狗狗和主人之間互動的關係。

4.到狗公園去:到狗公園也可以是很好的運動。如果您的狗狗喜歡與其他寵物接觸,不用牽繩也會聽話的話,到狗公園能加強狗狗的社交能力。當您的狗狗與其他狗狗玩的時候,牠們會玩得起勁,有助提升肌力和體能,以及社交情绪。按此瀏覽香港康文署狗公園的詳情。

5.游泳:游泳是較溫和的運動,是很多狗喜愛的運動之一。游泳能鍛鍊多組肌肉,對關節僵硬的狗狗亦有很大的作用。游泳也可以是挺費勁的運動,要確保狗狗不會害怕接觸水,讓牠慢慢適應在水中的感覺後,才逐漸放手讓狗狗自行游泳。

如何鼓勵懶惰的狗狗做運動?

我認為其實所有的狗狗都喜歡散步和參與社交活動,但切勿太急進,因為沒有動物喜歡被支配,强迫去做一些自己能力以外的東西。對從未做過運動的狗狗,甚至是不經常外出的狗狗,做運動會對牠們來說較陌生,甚至令牠們緊張。在這種情況下,我建議先帶狗狗走出家門散步,讓牠到街上看幾分鐘,途中給予小食作鼓勵,幫助牠建立正面的記憶。做多幾次後,直到狗狗不再害怕外出,然後才逐次增加步行距離。如果狗狗一開始便想回家,我們不要強迫牠們繼續前進,讓牠在原地坐一會兒,然後回家。讓牠慢慢建立信心後,第二天再重新開始。

狗狗有良好的體能有甚麼好處?

體能的鍛煉對我們與動物的健康都有很大幫助。據統計,健康和正常體重的狗狗有更好的免疫力,器官功能得以提升,能保持穩定的血糖水平,減慢心臟速率,避免高血壓,並大大減少新陳代謝引致的問題,如糖尿病等。這些的好處意味著一個更長、更快樂、更健康的生活。而且,體能鍛煉能增加狗狗與主人在戶外相處的時間,令牠們更快樂,更享受牠們的生活。

有良好體能的狗狗需要更多食物?

做大量的運動的狗狗和工作犬,確實需要更高熱量和蛋白質的食物。然而,大多數正常體型的狗狗,只要食建議份量的狗糧,已能取得均衡的營養。我建議主人以體況評分的方法衡量狗狗的的身體狀況,即以雙手摸寵物的肋骨,然後進行評分。如果認為狗狗過瘦,我建議每日增加約15%的食物,但要小心,不要過度餵食。我也建議做運動的狗狗食用關節補充劑,如葡萄糖胺和奧米加-3(普遍的狗狗每天需500毫克左右),以補充牠們額外的需要。

我相信,保持狗狗身體健康也是做寵物主人重要的一部分。給牠一個更長、更快樂、更健康的生活,也就是給主人一個更健康、快樂的生活。說實,做運動有多麼好的優點,但卻沒半個缺點,而最重要的是,那是不需要錢的。

Dog running

 There are two main components of being in shape – firstly being a normal healthy body weight and composition, and secondly being fit and capable of exercise. Luckily enough, these two components normally go together… It’s rare to see a very overweight dog who is also very fit.


The best way to tell if a dog is overweight is to feel over their ribs and spine. You should be able to feel the rib and spine bones, but when you look at the ribs and spine the bones should not be visible. Your dog is overweight if you need to push hard to feel the bones, and if you can’t feel them at all the dog is obese. On the other hand, if you can see the rib indentations the dog is underweight, and if the ribs are very visible with no significant coverage then the dog is undernourished. As far as fitness goes, a dog should be easily able to go on a thirty minute steady flat walk without being heavily out of breath or very tired.


It’s important to take breed and age into account when assessing your dog and formulating an exercise program. Some breeds such as Greyhounds and Whippets will normally have visible ribs, and others such as Bulldogs naturally have quite a solid, muscular build. Greyhounds will also naturally be fitter than Bulldogs. Also, older dogs will normally have somewhat reduced fitness and ability to exercise.

There is more information about weight management on vetopia.com.hk here.

What are the top 5 ways to get your dog in shape?

Getting into shape is pretty simple. Regular, sensible exercise. When starting out an exercise program remember to begin gently and build up over a few weeks. And remember to make it appropriate for your dog’s breed and age.. Pugs can’t exercise like Terriers, and take it especially easy if your dog is very young or old. Young developing dogs, especially large breeds, also shouldn’t do very high impact exercise until at least 9 months old to allow their bones to grow and develop.
The top 5 ways to get your dog in shape are:


1. Street Walks: Sometimes the simplest answer is the best. Regular, gentle but steady walking exercise really helps build cardiovascular fitness, and is very effective at fat burning. I’d recommend two walks per day if possible, generally starting at around 15-30 minutes depending on the age and breed of your dog.


2. Trail Walks: As your dog becomes fitter, I’d recommend incorporating some more strenuous trail walks if your dog is up for the challenge. This type of exercise is excellent at building leg strength and high-end fitness.


3. Outdoor play areas and parks: Dog and owner activities such as fetch, frisbee and tug are very useful for working on fitness, and also help promote the bond between a dog and their owner.


4. Dog parks: Dog parks are great for exercise as well as dog socialisation, assuming your dog is comfortable around other pets and trained to be off-leash. Playing with other dogs is highly energetic and really helps build both muscle strength and fitness, as well as the emotional well-being from interacting with fellow canines. A handy list of the LCSD dog parks in all areas of Hong Kong can be found here.


5. Swimming: Swimming is an great, low-impact exercise that a lot of dogs love. It conditions many muscle groups and can be really useful for dogs with stiff joints. Remember that swimming is quite strenuous for dogs, and make sure they are comfortable in the water and can always get out if they want to.

How do you encourage a very lazy dog?

I think deep down all dogs love a walk and socialisation. I’d definitely say start off slow and easy – nobody like being pushed beyond their limits and coming home sore and tired. Dogs with no history of exercise may be a little unfamiliar or even nervous, especially if they don’t go outside often. In these cases I recommend people start off by just taking their dog out of the house on to the street and watch the world go by for a few minutes, and maybe give a treat or two to help build positive memories. Do this for a couple of times until the dog seems comfortable and then increase the walk to the next street corner, then around the block, and so on. If a dog starts to want to go home I wouldn’t force them to continue… better to sit for a while to build confidence then go home and start out again tomorrow.

What are the main benefits of a dog being in shape?

As with people, cardiovascular fitness and health has wide-ranging benefits. Dogs who are fit and healthy and of normal body weight statistically have better immunity, increased organ function, lower resting blood glucose levels, lower resting heart rate, are less likely to have high blood pressure, and are at greatly reduced incidence of metabolic issues such as diabetes. Add it all together and this means they will have a longer, happier, healthier life. And it’s not only about the physical benefits. Dogs who are in shape are likely to spend more time outdoors with their owners, meaning they are often more emotionally balanced, happier and enjoying all life has to offer.

Does an in-shape dog need more food?
Dogs who do a very large amount of exercise or are working dogs do need a higher calorie diet with higher levels of protein. However, most average in-shape dogs will get plenty of nutrition from regular dog food, in the normal recommended amounts. I would suggest all owners to monitor their dog’s body condition using the rib and spine checking technique described above. If the dog does seem to be getting a little thin after a new health plan I’d recommend increasing the volume of food given by around 15%, but be careful not to overfeed – you don’t want to undo all of that good work. I’d also recommend that all dogs who are doing physical exercise take a glucosamine supplement for their joints and an Omega-3 supplement for their general health (around 500mg/day of each is usually plenty for the average dog).

I believe that keeping your dog fit and healthy is an important part of pet ownership. And it pays dividends on every front – a healthier, happier, more adjusted pet, and often a happier and healthier owner too. There really are no downsides. And best of all, it’s free.