體驗我們的 循環月購服務

Vetopia獸醫網上商店

港幣$300或以上免費送貨

Vetopia會員積分計劃

狗絕育

決定要否為您的狗狗絕育可以是一個複雜的問題,從獸醫的角度,除非您計劃為您的貓貓繁殖,絕育對狗狗的健康和行為都有正面的影響。

為什麼要為我的狗狗絕育?

絕育對您狗狗的健康和行為有很多好處。未絕育的動物容易患上生殖器官的疾病。年老而未絕育的雄性狗狗容易患上睾丸癌和前列腺問題。年老而未絕育的雌性狗狗容易患上乳腺癌、子宮癌和子宮蓄膿的問題。這些問題在已絕育的狗狗身上較罕見。

絕育也能減少狗狗一些行為問題,包括對人和其他動物的一些侵略性行為、在不適當的地方小便和不必要的交配行為。絕育對保護您的家居亦非常重要。從社會角度而言,每年香港有數以萬計的動物被遺棄。其實,只要為動物進行絕育,可以避免許多不必要的遺棄案件。

甚麼時候應為我的狗狗進行絕育?

六個月大的狗狗已可以進行絕育。雌性狗狗越早進行絕育手術,患乳腺癌的風險越低,一般建議於第一次發情期(8-12個月)前絕育。當狗狗還年輕、身體健康時絕育,手術的風險和引起併發症的機會會較低。

絕育手術涉及哪些程序?

絕育屬於外科手術,您的狗狗通常會在早上到獸醫診所,於即日晚上回家。手術後,牠們一般需要休息兩天左右,讓身體回復正常。絕育手術需在全身麻醉下進行,手術過程約30-45分鐘。在絕育手術的過程中,獸醫會在雄性狗狗的陰囊對上開一個小切口,除去兩個睾丸;在雌性狗狗的手術過程中,獸醫會切除整個卵巢和子宮。只切除輸精管,或捆紮輸卵管等技巧通常不建議用於動物上,因為狗狗仍會有患上生殖器官疾病的風險,或不能防止狗狗的行為問題。

絕育有沒有任何後遺症?

絕育的後遺症較罕見的,其正面影響遠比負面影響大。但絕育始終屬於外科手術,涉及全身麻醉。雖然現今大多數獸醫診所和醫院也使用高質素的麻醉藥和設備,但任何外科手術也會有一定的風險。

偶然,有些絕了育的雌性狗狗,尤其是在睡覺的時候會有滲尿的情況。這種併發症並不常見,並是可以治療的。有些人以為狗狗在絕育後會容易肥胖,但其實這種說法並沒有科學根據。絕育後,只要配合運動和均衡的飲食,體重便會受控制。當然,絕育後的狗狗再沒有繁殖的能力。

如果我計劃為狗狗繁殖,可以給我一些建議嗎?

為狗狗計劃生育可以是一個激動人心的時刻和寶貴的經驗,但過程十分有挑戰性,需要有豐富的經驗。一旦決定為狗狗計劃生育,主人要確保了解當中的每個步驟,很少主人能只坐著等狗狗順其自然地生寶寶。一般狗狗的懷孕期約61天。幼犬通常在6週左右斷奶,因此,狗狗生育後的4個月左右,主人需要為狗媽媽和幼犬提供大量照顧。狗媽媽在懷孕前、懷孕中,或生孕後的風險還是相當高。有些情況,更需要獸醫的幫助。主人也要謹記狗媽媽一次能生8隻幼犬。主人要安置新生的幼犬,寵物店通常不會接受自家繁殖的幼犬,而動物收容所亦不能保證能為新生的幼犬找到新的家。

因此,要否要為您的狗狗絕育可以是困難的決定。主人要先權衡選擇的好壞,然後決定甚麼最適合您的狗狗。除非您打算為狗狗計劃生育,為牠絕育的好處絕對多過壞處。如果您想了解更多關於狗狗生育的資訊,我們樂意為您提供協助。

Deciding whether or not to desex (neuter or spey) your dog can be a complicated issue – there are few subjects in veterinary medicine that evoke such strong views and conflicting opinions. From a veterinary perspective, unless you are planning on breeding your dog, the advantages of desexing, both medically and socially, far outweigh the disadvantages.

 Why should my dog be desexed?

There are medical and behavioural reasons for desexing your dog. Unfortunately, there is a high incidence of reproductive tract-related cancer and dysfunction in both male and female dogs. Older undesexed male dogs are prone to testicular cancers and prostatic hyperplasia / cancer. Older undesexed female dogs are commonly affected by breast cancers, uterine cancer and pyometra (infection of the uterus). These conditions are very rare in desexed animals.

Desexing also reduces many socially undesirable traits, including aggression towards people and animals, urinating in inappropriate places and abnormal mounting and mating behaviour. Desexing is also very important if you are keeping more than one dog in your house. Lastly, from a social perspective, tens of thousands of animals are surrendered to welfare shelters yearly in Hong Kong. Many of these cases could have been avoided if more animals were desexed.

 When should my dog be desexed?

Dogs can be desexed any time after six months old. Ideally, female dogs should be desexed before they have their first season (before 8-12 months old) to help prevent the development of breast cancer in later life. In general, it is better to desex your dog while he or she is still young, fit and healthy, to minimise the chance of complications.

 What does the desexing operation involve?

Desexing is a surgical operation. Your dog would be taken to the surgical hospital, have the operation during the day, and be returned home that evening. They will have to rest for a couple of days, but in general recovery is rapid. The desexing operation is performed under a general anaesthetic and usually takes around 30-45 minutes. Desexing in male dogs involves a small incision near the scrotum and the removal of the reproductive organs. In female dogs, an ovariohysterectomy is performed. Vasectomy, or ‘tying off tubes’ is not recommended for animals, as the dog is still at risk of all of the reproductive tract medical conditions described above.

 Are there any side-effects of desexing?

There are possible side effects following desexing, however these are rare and the positive effects of desexing far outweigh the risk of side-effects. Desexing is a surgical operation. There is some risk with any surgical operation involving general anaesthetic, although this is minimised by using high quality anaesthetic drugs and equipment.

Very occasionally, female dogs may also have more trouble holding their bladder, and may sometimes dribble a little urine while sleeping. This side effect is rare and is treatable. Some people also believe that their dog will put on weight following desexing, although there are no conclusive scientific studies that support this. A balance of exercise and diet will always have much greater effect on body weight than desexing. Lastly, the desexing operation is not reversible and there is no possibility of breeding your dog following the operation.

 What advice do you have about breeding my dog?

Breeding your dog can be a very rewarding experience, and also a very challenging endeavour. The best advice to give someone thinking about breeding their dog is make sure you know what you are getting into. Very rarely can you ‘sit back and let nature take it’s course’. Pregnancy in dogs lasts for around 63 days, and puppies are generally weaned at around 6 weeks – hence there is a period of around 4 months where your dog will need someone to provide intensive support and help. Pregnancy also involves considerable risk to the mother, both before, during and after birth. Significant veterinary intervention may be required during the pregnancy period. Also remember that you will have to find good homes for up to 8 puppies. Pet shops will not take ‘home-bred’ puppies and puppies surrendered to shelters are not guaranteed to find homes.

On the other hand, breeding your dog can be an exciting time and a valuable experience, for both the dog and the owners, albeit intensive and sometimes costly. By far the most common statement I have heard from owners after breeding is ‘It was interesting, but never again’.

So the decision about whether to desex can be a difficult one. The best advice is to weigh up the options, and decide what you think is best for your dog. The benefits of desexing greatly outweigh the risks, and should be performed on all dogs unless you are planning to breed.