體驗我們的 循環月購服務

Vetopia獸醫網上商店

港幣$300或以上免費送貨

Vetopia會員積分計劃

行雷引致的焦慮症

行雷引致的焦慮症是很常見的


對於一些狗狗,似乎沒有甚麼比行雷閃電更可怕。牠們似乎能在風暴前已經感覺它的來臨,牠們會躲在衣櫃、躲在床下或躲在主人的兩腿之間。

其實,行雷焦慮症是很常見的,不同狗狗嚴重的程度都不一樣。好消息是,我們能為主人建議一些處理狗狗在行雷閃電時的恐懼和情緒的方法。


主人可以怎樣做?

提供一個安全的環境


最簡單的方法就是在家中陪著、輕拍著您的狗狗,安撫著牠們。給牠們一個安全的地方躲起來,比如牠們的床、箱子或在您旁邊。即使只有輕度焦慮的狗狗,如果在行雷閃電沒有得到適當的安撫的話,牠的焦慮症有機會日趨嚴重。留下狗狗要牠自己面對,並不會對牠焦慮的情緒有幫助,反而這會令焦慮症變得更糟。箱子或籠是不錯的躲避地方,因為它們模擬洞穴,狗狗在野外的本能就是在危險時,尋找洞穴似的地方隱藏。按此瀏覽一系列的籠子、圍籬


逆條件訓練(counter-conditioning)


逆條件訓練也會有幫助。嘗試把行雷閃電與正面的事物聯繫上來。在行雷閃電時,給狗狗牠最愛的小食,這種小食只好在行雷閃電時才給狗狗作一種特殊的獎勵。這可以幫助逐漸建立行雷閃電與正面的體驗之間的連接。當然,留在家中與狗狗玩耍,分散牠對行雷閃電的注意,也能有很大的幫助。久而久之,狗狗會對行雷閃電沒有那麼敏感。另一個方法是在網上尋找一些雷暴的聲音,在一個晴天播給狗狗聽,並不時一邊輕撫著,一邊給予小食,幫助狗狗慢慢緩解輕度焦慮的情緒。


Thundercoat 舒壓外套


一些主人會使用能在行雷閃電時幫助穩定狗狗情緒的舒壓外套。 Thundercoat 舒壓外套是相當舒適、貼身的。輕壓式的設計亦似乎能令狗狗感到安全。


費洛蒙(pheromone)


Adaptil是真正能幫助狗狗的產品。 Adaptil含有費洛蒙(pheromone),一種只有狗狗才能檢測到的特殊味道。這種味道是不會對人類有影響。費洛蒙是一種狗狗的在自己領土自然分泌的味道,能使狗狗感到舒適、輕鬆和安全。Adaptil有不同的形式,可以作插電式香薰、噴霧和頸帶。 Adaptil不含任何藥物、非常安全,而沒有副作用的產品,可以幫助紓緩狗狗的情緒。

Vetopia.com為您提供一系列的Adaptil產品


藥物輔助治療


在某些情況下,患有較嚴重行雷焦慮症的狗狗可以服用一些安全而有效的藥物,如Clomicalm。您的獸醫會樂意與您討論寵物的需要和這些藥物的可行性。


按此聯絡一些香港獸醫服務,與您的獸醫相討解決方案。

Thunderstorm anxiety is very common

For some dogs there seems to be nothing more terrifying than a thunderstorm. Whether it’s hiding in a closet, under a bed or between the owners legs there are many who seem inconsolable, and they often seem to sense the storm is before it arrives.

Thunderstorm anxiety is very common, and ranges from mild cases to severe phobias. The good news is there are a number of strategies to help your dog deal with the fear and emotion.

What can owners do?

Provide a safe, supportive environment

The best initial advice is to be there for your dog. Support them, console them and pat them. Give them a safe place such as their bed, a dog crate or a seat on the floor next to you. Even dogs with mild anxiety should be supported as thunderstorm phobia is often progressive, and can worsen over time if not helped. Leaving a dog to ‘toughen up’ won’t help with anxieties – in fact it will usually make them worse. Crates can work especially well with some dogs as they simulate a natural den, where a dog would instinctually seek to hide in the wild. A selection of good crates is available here.

Counter-conditioning

Counter-conditioning can also help. Try to associate the thunderstorm with something good. Find a treat your dog really loves and save these as a special reward for thunderstorms or anxious times. This can help slowly build a connection between a storm and a positive experience. Playing with a dog, inside of course, can also help great a good association, and may take their mind off the storm. Some owner further this training by coupling it with desensitisation – search for some thunderstorm sounds on the internet and play these at a low volume on a normal sunny day, whilst giving treats and pats. This can help a dog slowly ease into the counter-conditioning with only a mild anxiety.

Thundercoat

Some owners also find a storm jacket or thunder coat can really help. This is a fairly snug fitting jumper or vest that is worn by the dog, and the compression seems to make a dog feel safe and secure. 

Pheromones

Adaptil, a pheromone diffuser, can also help in some cases. Adaptil contains a special scent that is only detectable to dogs, and has no odour or effect on humans. It is bioidentical to the dog’s normal territory marking scent, and makes the dog feel comfortable, relaxed and safe. It is available as a plug-in pheromone diffuser, spray, or pheromone-impregnated collar. Adaptil is completely safe, does not contain any drugs and has no side effect, but can be a great aid in helping calm anxious dogs. Vetopia.com stocks a full range of Adaptil products here.

Medication

Lastly, in some cases medication such as Clomicalm can provide a real assistance to dogs with severe thunderstorm anxiety. If you feel that you pet is really nervous and is not responding to training, discussing clomicalm with your vet or an animal behavioural specialist may be a good idea. Vets and veterinary behavioural specialists are listed in our Useful Vet Contacts in Hong Kong section.