假期本來就是一個喜慶的時刻,但有時候,這些喜慶日子亦隱藏著一定的危機。只要我們做足預防措施,就可以避免在這些日子帶毛孩到獸醫急診室了。

以下是5個最常見的聖誕寵物危機:

1.有毒的植物 -鮮艷漂亮的節日喜慶植物可能是有毒的,例如貓貓吃了百合的葉,有可能致命。雖然色彩班斕的植物能增添聖誕氣氛,但它們含有一種乳狀汁液,誤食的話,會刺激口腔。桑寄生和冬青是兩種毒性最高的聖誕植物,如果寵物食了,可以引致嚴重的腸胃失調、呼吸困難,甚至心臟衰竭。

2.包裝紙和絲帶 - 這些閃亮亮的裝飾品對毛孩來說,可能很有趣,但亦可以是十分危險的。一不小心食了絲帶,可以導致窒息,或堵塞腸道,造成腸扭轉,並需以手術方式把壞死的腸和異物切除。最好的預防方法是盡快把包裝紙、絲帶、蝴蝶結收好或棄掉,讓毛孩不會受好奇心引誘,而咬包裝紙和絲帶。

3. 節日燈飾和蠟燭 - 您的寵物是否喜歡咬東西?對牠們來說,沒有東西比閃閃發光、晃來晃去的節日燈飾更吸收。確保毛孩不能接觸到燈飾和蠟燭,防止牠咬燈飾的電線,避免觸電。 

                                                  

4.聖誕裝飾 - 對貓貓來說, 金屬絲是非常吸引的。牠們無法抗拒閃亮反光的裝飾引誘。一旦誤吞了金屬絲,後果可以很嚴重。就像絲帶一樣,它會扭曲,堵塞腸道,嚴重的會致命。把玻璃、鋁和紙張等飾品高高掛在聖誕樹上,令毛孩無法接觸到。這些裝飾品不但可以引致窒息,咀嚼後會刺損毛孩的口腔、咽喉和腸道。

5. 危害毛孩的食物 - 很多人都知道不要讓寵物吃巧克力,尤其是黑巧克力,顏色越深的巧克力,毒性就越高。在同家人、朋友分享節日大餐時,他們可能亦想與家中的寵物分享。火雞通常是安全的,它不太油膩,只要剪走火雞的脂肪和除去骨頭即可。肉上的脂肪可能會導致腸胃不適,嚴重的會導致胰臟炎;給狗狗骨頭也是很危險的,骨頭咬碎後,會刺破腸道,或造成腸道堵塞。其他的食物,包括酒類、洋蔥和大蒜亦不要給狗狗食用。如果您也希望毛孩能感受節日的氣氛,您可以叫家人、朋友給牠寵物用的小食。

聖誕是一個家庭團聚和慶祝的活動,我們為您的貓貓和狗狗提供不同天然、健康的小食,讓牠也可以享受這麼喜慶的氣氛!

我們Vetopia祝您和您的寵物有個安全、愉快的節日!

The holidays are a festive time, but the season brings added dangers to our four legged friends. By taking preventative measures, you can save yourself and your pet a trip to the veterinary emergency room. Here are the 5 most common Christmas pet dangers that every pet owner should know.

1. Toxic Plants - They're festive and pretty, but holiday plants can be toxic to your pet - as little as a single leaf from any lily variety is lethal to cats. And although poinsettias fill homes with color, they contain a milky sap that can irritate the mouth if ingested. Mistletoe and holly are two of the most toxic holiday plants to pets, causing severe gastrointestinal disorders, breathing difficulty and even heart failure in extreme cases.

2. Wrapping Paper & Ribbon - These shiny decorations may look like fun, but they can be dangerous to your pet. Ingested ribbon can be a choking hazard and ultimately twist throughout the intestines and have to be surgically removed later. It's best to quicky discard ribbons and bows so your curious companions won't be tempted to chew or play with them.

3. Holiday Light & Candles - Does your pet like to chew? There's nothing more inticing than a sparkly, shiny string dangling from a tree to pique your pet's interest. Remember to keep lights and candles out of reach.. electrical shock may occur when a pet chomps down on an electrical cord. 

 

                                                  

4. Christmas Decorations - Tinsel, while not toxic, is very attractive to cats. The shiny, reflective decoration seems to be irresistable to your curious companion. Once consumed, it can cause serious injury. Much like ribbon, this foreign body can be fatal as it twists and bunches inside your pet's intestines. Place glass, aluminum, and paper ornaments higher up on the tree or out of reach from your pet. These ornaments can not only be a choking hazard, but onced chewed, the broken pieces can cut your pet's mouth, throat, and instestines.   

5. Food Hazards - Most people know to keep chocolate away from pets, especially dark chocolate, as the darker and richer the chocolate, the higher the toxicity. As friends and family enjoy their holiday meal, they may be tempted to share with the family pet. While turkey is usually safe as it's not too fatty, fat trimmings and bones are dangerous to dogs. Fat trimmed from meat can cause an upset stomache, or worse, inflammation of the pancreas (pancreatitis). And although it might seem natural to give a dog a bone, meat bones can shatter or splinter and puncture the intestinal tract or cause intestinal blockage. Other foods to avoid are alcohol, onions, and garlic. If you want Fido to join in on the festivities, give him treats he would normally receive if you want your guests to "treat" him.  

The holidays are a celebration of family and we want our pets to enjoy the festivities as much as we do. We have a wide range of natural, healthy treats for dogs and cats, as well as curated gifts for your favorite friend!

From all of us at Vetopia, best wishes for a safe and merry holiday for you and your pets!