狗狗的攻擊性行為

狗狗的攻擊性行為

攻擊性行為的常見類型


恐懼和支配性攻擊性的行為是最常見的。


當狗狗被放置在一個令牠們感到害怕或不舒服的環境時,牠們可能會因恐懼而展示攻擊性的行為。即使環境看似對狗狗不會造成傷害,但只要一個陌生人走過或摩托車駛過房子,狗狗也會變得十分緊張和焦慮,甚至會作出突然的反應,試圖保護自己。常見例子如朋友應邀到家中聚餐,當您的朋友嘗試摸狗狗時,狗狗會可能因害怕,而展示一些攻擊性的行為。


支配性的攻擊行為與恐懼而致的攻擊行為看似相同,但兩者的分別很大。狗狗是對等級觀念很重的動物,一旦確認了牠們的領土範圍,牠們會盡力保護屬於自己的東西。支配性的攻擊行為可以在屋內發生,比如狗狗會堅守自己的床或椅子,當人們走近時,牠會吠叫。然而,支配性的攻擊行為在屋外更常見。當狗狗走過圍欄或看見其他正在狗散步時,甚至掉下來的樹皮等,狗狗也可能會展示支配性的攻擊行為。


我可以怎樣處理狗狗攻擊性行為?


在開始任何類型的訓練或行為矯正前,我們要記住無論狗狗的攻擊性行為是發自恐懼、支配性或其他原因,不及早處理,問題可以更嚴重,甚至造成危險。同時,確保您或身邊的人安全也是很重要的。以下有幾個幫助主人和紓解狗狗攻擊性行為的方法。


任何行為問題也好,首先確保狗狗有足夠的運動、規律的飲食和生活習慣,以及與主人有充足的互動時間。第一步是要建立良好的基礎,我們要從長遠的利益出發,防止同樣的問題再發生。疲倦而滿足的狗狗總比整天百無聊賴的狗狗好。


如何判斷狗狗的攻擊性行為出自恐懼,還是出自支配性心理呢?


區分恐懼和支配性心理的攻擊性行為是確定處理方法的關鍵。狗展示恐懼性攻擊行為前,通常會先蹲低,把自己的腿和耳朵往後貼著頭部,尾巴低下。而支配性的攻擊行為卻相反,狗狗通常會有較高的姿態,尾巴豎起,背部和耳朵都豎立向前。


處理因恐懼而致的攻擊性行為


為了幫助狗狗減低恐懼而發的攻擊性行為,我們要先確定觸發該行為的原因。然後,慢慢在平靜、受控的情況下,讓狗狗克服牠的恐懼。主人要盡量找著狗狗的焦點,防止牠突然因恐懼而觸發攻擊性行為。有些狗隻訓練員會使用能發出響亮聲音的氣笛重點培訓狗狗,並在訓練期間,不忘在恰當時給予小食作獎勵。對患有分離焦慮症的狗狗,這是一個逆條件訓練(counter-conditioning training)技巧,讓狗狗培養更正面的體驗。要謹記,訓練不是要嚇狗狗。如果牠開始對身處的環境感到不自在,我們應中止訓練,稍後再試。可以的話,嘗試讓狗狗遠離會使牠恐懼的東西。比如,如果狗狗害怕家中應邀的賓客,主人可以嘗試用方法顯示應邀的賓客只是朋友,並不會造成威脅的。如果狗狗還是害怕,主人可以請客人先離開一會,直至幾分鐘後狗狗的情緒回服正常,再請客人回來,但請客人避免與狗狗有眼睛接觸或嘗試模狗狗。


處理因支配性心理而致的攻擊性行為


支配性心理比恐懼而致的攻擊性行為少見,但這種攻擊性行為較危險。小心有支配性心理的狗狗,一般我們會建議主人在開始任何訓練前,與獸醫或專業訓練員相討適合牠的訓練方式。有支配性心理的狗狗通常認為自己的地位比家中其他成員高,我不會建議主人直接挑戰狗狗,因為這會令狗狗以為您在挑戰牠的地位,而誘發牠一些攻擊性行為。相反,我會建議順序漸進的方法,嘗試轉換您們在家中的等級位置。


每當狗狗想要某些東西時,先讓牠執行一個指示。這種方式是透過要牠遵守您的指令,巧妙地要牠承認您在家中較高等的位置,然後才得到獎勵。例如,主人先指令狗狗先坐好,才能食晚餐或去散步;狗狗要在牠們自己的範圍內進食,不能靠近家中的飯桌;在晚餐時,不要把我們的食物給狗狗。最後,家中要有不能讓狗狗活動的範圍,如狗狗不允在主人的床和椅子睡覺等。這些做法能加強狗狗的想法,讓牠們知道自己不是屋的主人。當然,我會建議狗狗有自己睡覺的地方,讓牠們有歸屬感和安全感。此外,家中每個人的等級都要比狗狗的高,包括顧傭和其他家庭成員,而每位家庭成員也應參與訓練。


Adaptil是真正可以幫助狗狗紓緩攻擊性行為的產品。 Adaptil含有費洛蒙(pheromone),一種只有狗狗才能檢測到的特殊味道。這種味道不會對人類造成影響。費洛蒙是一種狗狗在自己領土自然分泌的味道,能使狗狗感到舒適、輕鬆和安全。Adaptil有不同的形式,可以作插電式香薰、噴霧和頸帶。 Adaptil不含任何藥物,非常安全而沒有副作用的產品,可以幫助紓緩狗狗的情緒。


Vetopia.com為您提供一系列的Adaptil產品


最後,我也建議主人準備口罩。在外出或有潛在危險時,給狗狗帶上口罩。即使狗狗咬人的機率再小,確保每個人的安全是非常重要的。


Vetopia.com為您提供一系列的高質素的口罩

Types of Aggression

The two most common types of aggression seen in dogs are fear aggression and dominance aggression.

Fear aggression occurs when a dogs is placed in a situation that makes them feel scared or uncomfortable. Sometimes these situations may seem completely harmless, such as a new person coming around to the house or a motorcycle driving past while on a walk. The dog becomes anxious and nervous, and reacts with a very aggressive response to try to protect themselves. One example would be the family dog barking or snapping at a dinner party guest when they try to pat the dog.

Dominance aggression is very different from fear aggression, but can look outwardly similar. Dogs are quite territorial animals, and will have specific areas that they consider to be theirs and they may act dominantly and aggressively to protect their belongings and territory. Dominance aggression can occur inside the house, such as when a dog fiercely guards their bed or a chair and growls if people come close. However, it is more commonly seen outside – a dog that barks wildly at other dogs through a fence or on a walk is usually showing dominance aggression.

What can owners do to deal with aggression?

Before you start any type of training or behaviour modification it is important to remember that aggression issues, whether they are related to fear, dominance or any other cause, can become serious and in some cases can be dangerous. It is vital to make sure that you never put yourself or any other person at risk of being bitten. With that said, there are a number of safe methods for helping dogs with aggression issues.

For any behavioural issue, it is important to make sure the dog is being exercised regularly, having regular meals and having a decent amount of owner-dog play and interaction daily. Setting the foundations for a normal, healthy relationship will go a long way in preventing these issues from occurring, and a tired and satisfied dog is much less likely to cause trouble than a bored, energetic and ignored dog.

How to determine whether aggression is fear or dominance based

It is also very important to differentiate between fear and dominance aggression, as the treatments and solutions are very different. A fear aggressive dog will normally have a low crouching stance with their tail between their legs and their ears back against the head. A dominance aggressive dog with generally have a high stance, the tail is pointed stiffly back from the body and the ears are pricked up and forward.

Dealing with fear aggression

To help with fear aggression, first determine situations that trigger the behaviour. Then slowly expose the dog to the situation in a calm and controlled environment. Try to keep the dog’s attention or prevent him focussing on the trigger – some trainers will use a loud clicking device or a whistle to help focus the dog.  Then give them a treat and a reward. As with separation anxiety, this is a counter-conditioning training technique which works to replace a negative emotion with a positive feeling. Remember that we’re never trying to scare the dog, so if they are finding the situation uncomfortable then stop the training and try again later. Also, try to work with the dog’s anxieties, and prevent exposure or triggers if possible – for example, if a dog is uncomfortable when new guests visit then the owner should welcome the guest as a friend to show the dog they are no threat, then ask the guest to leave the dog and not make eye contact or try to pat the dog, at least for a few minutes until everything is settled.

Dealing with dominance aggression

Dominance aggression is much less common that fear aggression, but it can potentially be much more dangerous. I would be very careful when working with a dominance aggressive dog, and I would generally recommend an owner to consult with a veterinarian or professional trainer before any training begins. Dominance aggression is usually the result of a dog thinking it is above other members of the family in the dominance hierarchy -they think they’re the boss. I would never suggest an owner directly confronts or challenges a dominant dog, this is very likely to escalate into a fight. Instead, I’d suggest a gentle shifting of the pecking-order. Whenever the dog wants something they must perform a command first – this way they are following your commands and subtly acknowledging that you are the boss whilst still getting a reward. For example, the dog should sit before being fed dinner or going on a walk. The dog should also be fed in their area – not near the table, and food should not be given from the table. Lastly, there should be human-only areas of the house, such as the chairs and beds, where the dog is not allowed to sleep. This will help reinforce the idea that they are not the master of the house. Of course I’d always recommend that a dog has their own personal sleeping area as this will give them a sense of belonging and sanctity. I should also note that this hierarchy should include everyone in the house, including helpers and other family members, being above the dog, and everybody should engage in the training as long as there is absolutely no risk.

A product called Adaptil can also really help dogs with aggression issues. Adaptil contains a pheromone, a special scent that is only detectable to dogs, and has no odour or effect on humans. It is bioidentical to the dog’s normal territory marking scent, and makes the dog feel comfortable, relaxed and safe. It is available as a plug-in pheromone diffuser, spray, or pheromone-impregnated collar. Adaptil is completely safe, does not contain any drugs and has no side effect, but can be a great aid in helping calm anxious dogs. Vetopia.com stocks a full range of Adaptil products here.

Lastly, I would also suggest that owners consider using a muzzle when outside or in potentially risky situations with a dog with aggressive issues. Even if the chance of a dog biting is small it’s important to make sure everyone is safe. There are a selection of good muzzles here.