體驗我們的 循環月購服務

Vetopia獸醫網上商店

港幣$300或以上免費送貨

Vetopia會員積分計劃

狗狗的分離焦慮症

甚麼是分離焦慮症?


分離焦慮是狗狗最常見的行為問題,即是當主人離開家時,狗狗會變得很焦慮不安。狗狗因感到孤獨和緊張,而開始不斷吠叫、抓門、躲在廁所裡面,甚至破壞家具。分離焦慮症實際上是培養而成的。多年來,狗狗被認為是「人類忠實的朋友」,但狗狗除了是人忠誠的夥伴外,也是群體的動物。當脫離同伴久了,狗狗便會感到孤獨和緊張。


主人可以怎樣幫助牠呢?


紓緩狗狗分離焦慮問題有一些很好的方法。


任何的行為問題也好,確保狗狗有足夠的運動、規律的飲食和生活習慣,以及與主人有足夠的互動時間。建立良好的基礎,從長遠的利益出發,便可以防止同樣的問題再發生。疲倦而滿足的狗狗總比整天百無聊賴的好。

主人可以利用不同的方法來分散狗狗的注意力。早上離開前,確保您的狗狗有潔齒棒或一些益智的狗玩具,有些玩具能讓主人把乾糧或小食放到裡面,狗狗只要動動腦筋,便會有小食,同時又可時消磨時間。這使狗狗將您的離開與一些正面的事物(新的小食或玩具)聯想起來。這種訓練方法稱為逆條件訓練(counter-conditioning training)。


按此瀏覽不同款式的玩具


Adaptil是真正能幫助狗狗的產品。 Adaptil含有費洛蒙(pheromone),一種只有狗狗才能檢測到的特殊味道,這種味道並不會對人類有影響。費洛蒙是一種狗狗在自己的領土自然分泌的味道,能使狗狗感到舒適、輕鬆和安全。Adaptil有不同的形式,可以作插電式香薰、噴霧和頸帶。 Adaptil不含任何藥物,非常安全、而沒有副作用的產品,可以幫助紓緩狗狗的情緒。

Vetopia.com為您提供一系列的Adaptil產品


另一個減輕分離焦慮的方法是降低興奮感,從而減低焦慮的水平。主人每次的離開都會令狗狗的情緒起伏不定,牠在主人離開時會焦慮不安,當主人晚上回來時又會高興不已。所以,盡量減少狗狗情緒的波動。早上以休閒和輕鬆的語氣跟狗狗說再見;回家時亦以平和的語氣跟狗狗打招呼。當然,要紓緩狗狗分離焦慮的情緒,不要無視狗狗或使牠們感到不被拒絕。


最後,主人可以慢慢為狗狗建立自信心。開始時,嘗試做短時間的假離開,即使是5分鐘也好,然後慢慢增加離開的長度,讓牠們對獨處慢慢建立信心。

What is separation anxiety?

Separation anxiety is the most common behavioural issue in dogs, and occurs when a pet becomes very distressed if the owners leave the house. The dog feels alone, nervous and uncomfortable, and starts acting out with excessive barking, whining, scratching at the door, going to the toilet inside or even damaging household furniture. Separation anxiety is essentially a by-product of being bred over the years to be “man’s best friend”. Dogs are very social pack animals and loyal companions, and the other side of this means that they feel very uncomfortable when they are alone.

What can owners do to help?

There are a number of good strategies that can help calm a dog with separation anxiety.

Firstly, for any behavioural issue, it is important to make sure the dog is being exercised regularly, having regular meals and having a decent amount of owner-dog play and interaction daily. Setting the foundations for a normal, healthy relationship will go a long way in preventing these issues from occurring, and a tired and satisfied dog is much less likely to cause trouble than a bored, energetic and ignored dog.

A dog with separation anxiety should be occupied and distracted while the owner is out. When leaving in the morning, make sure your dog has a chewing bone or toy to play with, or an even better option are the dog toys that can be stuffed with kibble or treats, requiring the dog to work at getting the food. Only give the toy just before leaving, so the dog will now associate the separation with something positive – a new treat or toy. This training method is called counter-conditioning and can really help.

See our range of suitable toys here.

A product called Adaptil can also really help dogs with separation anxiety. Adaptil contains a pheromone, a special scent that is only detectable to dogs, and has no odour or effect on humans. It is bioidentical to the dog’s normal territory marking scent, and makes the dog feel comfortable, relaxed and safe. It is available as a plug-in pheromone diffuser, spray, or pheromone-impregnated collar. Adaptil is completely safe, does not contain any drugs and has no side effect, but can be a great aid in helping calm anxious dogs.

Vetopia.com.hk stocks a full range of Adaptil products here.

Another tip for separation anxiety is to reduce the excitement and hence anxiety levels. Owners coming and going can be an emotional rollercoaster for a dog – they become quite distressed when the owner leaves in the morning, and then wildly happy when the owner returns in the evening. Try to reduce these peaks and troughs – say goodbye in the morning in a casual and relaxed way, and when you come home in the evening you should greet your dog and say hello, but keep it calm. Of course don’t ignore the dog or make them feel unwanted, but try to save the mad play sessions for another time.

Lastly, it is possible to build a dogs confidence by starting out with small breaks – just leave for 5 minutes at a time initially, then slowly increase the time spent away so the dog becomes accustomed to spending time alone.